Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Mixing Bowl: Immigration and Diversity in America opens January 8

Exhibition Dates: January 8- February 27, 2011

Reception: January 13, 6-8pm artists reception;
Gallery talk 7pm with Jurors Amy Cavanaugh Royce and Briony Hynson Evans

Special Programming:
February 4, 7-9pm: “Beyond Borders” film screening & panel discussion led by guest speaker, Simon Burrow, Executive Producer
February 10, 7pm: SPARK – a spoken word event inspired by the Exhibition

Target Gallery’s Mixing Bowl examines Immigration & Diversity in America

From tax structure to health care; immigration bleeds into the fabric of this country. Although the United States’ greatness was founded on the labor of immigrants, headlines still read; “Fractured States of America - Relentless Mass Immigration,” or “Congress Displeases on Dream Act,” to “Strapped US cannot afford immigration any longer”.

Immigration is clearly a hot topic in the media and on political agendas. This can easily be relegated to the realm of talking heads, skewed statistics, and Washington bureaucracy. Nonetheless, it is an important social element. The Mixing Bowl collection sheds light on the human and personal side of this equation.

- jurors, Amy Cavanaugh Royce and Briony Evans Hinson

Torpedo Factory Art Center’s Target Gallery opens their 2011 Exhibition Season with Mixing Bowl, an exhibition examining the hot topic issue of immigration in America. Artists were invited to submit work for consideration addressing their personal views on immigration and diversity in America today. Our jurors, Amy Cavanaugh Royce and Briony Evans Hynson, selected 16 artists for the exhibition. The work on view ranges from a large-scale video installation, photorealistic drawings, collage, and assemblage to photography.

Artists in the exhibit include: Nathan Bond (NY), Anne Dushanko Dobek (NJ), Chris Dutch (WV) and Amy Williams (WV), Corey Escoto (PA), Claire Feng (MD), Hugh Jones (VA), Carolina Rubio MacWright (NY), Barbara McIntyre (CA), Jennifer Nuttall (TX), Indrani Nayargall (NC), Joseph Ostraff (UT), So Yoon Lym (NJ), Kitty Sweet Winslow (CT), Stephanie Williams (VA), and Mara Zaslove (CA).